Story Poster
Photo by Rick Kimball/ISD
Notre Dame Football

Two Notre Dame Players Named to Bednarik Award Watch List

July 13, 2020

The hype train has officially started for Notre Dame linebacker Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah and safety Kyle Hamilton as both players were named to the Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List on Monday. 

Owusu Koramoah started 13 games in the fall and led the Irish with 13.5 tackles for loss. The Virginia native also totaled 80 tackles and 5.5 sacks. 

Hamilton was named a Freshman All-American by The Athletic in 2019 and won Co-Defensive Newcomer of the Year at Notre Dame's award banquet. 

The Atlanta native recorded 41 tackles, four interceptions and six passes defended. 

Semifinalists will be announced on November 3rd and the three finalists will be released on November 23rd. 

The Bednarik Award is awarded annually to the College Defensive Player of the Year and will be given out December 10th at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show. 

Watch List Calendar
Monday July 13: Chuck Bednarik Award (Kyle Hamilton, Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah)
Tuesday July 14: Davey O’Brien Award
Wednesday July 15: Doak Walker Award
Thursday July 16: Biletnikoff Award
Friday July 17: Mackey Award
Monday July 20: Jim Thorpe Award
Tuesday July 21: Outland Trophy & Nagurski Award
Wednesday July 22: Groza Award & Ray Guy Award
Thursday July 23: Hornung Award & Wuerffel Trophy
Friday July 24: Maxwell Award


subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.