Photo by Rick Kimball/ISD
Notre Dame Football

Brian Kelly Wins AP Coach Of The Year

December 17, 2018

Notre Dame head coach Brian Kelly has made one of the most remarkable two-year turnarounds in college football and is being rewarded for it. 

On Monday, Kelly became the third coach to win AP Coach of the Year twice since the award was established in 1998. Nick Saban and Gary Patterson are the other coaches to win the award twice. 

Kelly received 16 of 58 first-place votes and a total of 81 points. Nick Saban finished in second place with 16 first -place votes and 66 points. First-year UCF head coach Josh Heupel was third with 33 points and five first-place votes. 

Since arriving at Notre Dame, Kelly has racked up an 81-34 record including two perfect regular seasons. 

Kelly also won the Home Depot Coach of the Year Award earlier this month for his 12-0 season. 

Notre Dame will face Clemson to open the College Football Playoff on December 29th in the Cotton Bowl. 

Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.