Story Poster
Photo by Rick Kimball/ISD
Notre Dame Basketball

John Mooney Named All-ACC First Team

March 9, 2020

Notre Dame is in Greensboro (N.C.) preparing for Wednesday's ACC Tournament matchup against Boston College and there was some good news for the Irish program on Monday morning. 

Senior forward John Mooney was named All-ACC First Team after leading the conference in rebounds and double-doubles this season. 

The Orlando native becomes the third player from the program to earn All-ACC First Team as he follows Jerian Grant (2015) and Bonzie Colson (2017). 

Mooney is also the 17th player from Notre Dame to earn a first-team all-conference selection if you combine the ACC and Big East.

He also joins Pat Connaughton in earning an ACC all-conference selection in back-to-back seasons. The Notre Dame captain also received 11 votes for ACC Player of the Year.

Mooney averaged 16.5 points and 12.8 rebounds per game this season, while also setting the ACC record for double-doubles in conference play with 16.

Sophomore point guard Prentiss Hubb received two votes for Most Improved Player in the ACC after averaging 12.0 points and 4.9 assists per night. 

Sophomore guard Dane Goodwin received nine votes for Sixth Man of the Year. Goodwin averaged 10.7 points and 3.7 rebounds per game off the bench. 

No. 7 Notre Dame will open ACC Tournament play against No. 10 Boston College on Wednesday night at 7:00 p.m. on ESPN2. 

2020 All-ACC Team
First Team

Vernon Carey Jr., Duke, 367
Jordan Nwora, Louisville, 359
Tre Jones, Duke, 348
Elijah Hughes, Syracuse, 305

Second Team
Mamadi Diakite, Virginia, 234
Devin Vassell, Florida State, 212
Garrison Brooks, North Carolina, 209
Trent Forrest, Florida State, 200
Markell Johnson, NC State, 101
Third Team
Kihei Clark, Virginia, 98
Jose Alvarado, Georgia Tech, 87
Aamir Simms, Clemson, 79
Cole Anthony, North Carolina, 69
Olivier Sarr, Wake Forest, 63
Honorable Mention
Landers Nolley II, Virginia Tech, 58
Michael Devoe, Georgia Tech, 48
Brandon Childress, Wake Forest 44
Chris Lykes, Miami, 32
M.J. Walker, Florida State, 22
Braxton Key, Virginia, 16
Dwayne Sutton, Louisville 15
Steffon Mitchell, Boston College, 11
ACC Player of the Year
Tre Jones, Duke, 34
Jordan Nwora, Louisville, 17
Elijah Hughes, Syracuse, 7
Trent Forrest, Florida State, 4
Mamadi Diakite, Virginia 2

Freshman of the Year
Vernon Carey Jr., Duke, 70
Landers Nolley II, Virginia Tech, 2
Cole Anthony, North Carolina, 2
Patrick Williams, Florida State, 1
All-Defensive Team
Tre Jones, Duke, 64
Mamadi Diakite, Virginia, 55
Trent Forrest, Florida State, 55
James Banks III, Georgia Tech, 34
Steffon Mitchell, Boston College, 30
All-Freshman Team
Vernon Carey Jr., Duke, 75
Cole Anthony, North Carolina, 55
Landers Nolley II, Virginia Tech, 54
Cassius Stanley, Duke, 36
Patrick Williams, Florida State, 29
Coach of the Year
Leonard Hamilton, Florida State, 62
Tony Bennett, Virginia, 12
Chris Mack, Louisville, 1
Defensive Player of the Year
Tre Jones, Duke, 45
Trent Forrest, Florida State, 18
Steffon Mitchell, Boston College, 8
Kihei Clark, Virginia, 3
Manny Bates, NC State, 1
Most Improved Player
Garrison Brooks, North Carolina, 17
Olivier Sarr, Wake Forest, 16
Devin Vassell, Florida State, 16
Buddy Boeheim, Syracuse, 10
Aamir Simms, Clemson, 6
Moses Wright, Georgia Tech, 6
DJ Funderburk, NC State, 1
Jay Huff, Virginia, 1
Sixth Man of the Year
Patrick Williams, Florida State, 35
Malik Williams, Louisville, 28
Isaiah Wong, Miami, 3

Discussion from...

John Mooney Named All-ACC First Team

3,563 Views | 0 Replies | Last: 11 mo ago by mattfreeman
There are not any replies to this post yet.
Page 1 of 1
subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.