Story Poster
Photo by Rick Kimball/ISD
Notre Dame Football

Three Notre Dame Players Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

July 21, 2020

Notre Dame's offensive line enters the 2020 season as a significant strength for the Irish. 

On Tuesday, the Outland Trophy recognized three Notre Dame offensive lineman on its annual watch list. 

Aaron Banks, Liam Eichenberg and Jarrett Patterson were named along with 82 other prospects under consideration ass the nation's top interior lineman. 

The 2019 winner, Oregon's Penei Sewell, headlines the list after being the third consecutive sophomore to win the award.

Alabama leads the watch list with four selections as Deonte Brown (OL), Landon Dickerson (OL), Alex Leatherwood (OL) and LaBryan Ray (DL) made the list. 

Ohio State also had three players on the list as Wyatt Davis (OL), Thayer Munford (OL) and Josh Myers (OL) were named. 

The winner of the 75th Outland Trophy will be announced in early December. The official presentation to the winner will be made in Omaha (Neb.) at the Outland Trophy Awards Dinner. 

Notre Dame Winners
1946: George Connor
1948: Bill Fischer 
1976: Ross Browner 

About the Outland Trophy
The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The Outland Trophy, now in its 75th year, is the third-oldest major college football award. Created in 1946 when Dr. John Outland presented the FWAA with a financial contribution to initiate the award, the Outland Trophy has been given to the best interior lineman in college football ever since. Dr. Outland, an All-American at the University of Pennsylvania in the late 1890s, eventually took up practice in Kansas City, Mo. An avid outdoorsman, Dr. Outland believed linemen did not get the credit they deserved and wanted an award to recognize them.

Watch List Calendar
Monday July 13: Chuck Bednarik Award (Kyle Hamilton, Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah)
Tuesday July 14: Davey O’Brien Award (Ian Book) 
Wednesday July 15: Doak Walker Award
Thursday July 16: Biletnikoff Award
Friday July 17: Mackey Award
Monday July 20: Butkus Award (Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah)
Monday July 20: Jim Thorpe Award
Tuesday July 21: Outland Trophy (Aaron Banks, Liam Eichenberg and Jarrett Patterson)
Tuesday July 21: Nagurski Award (Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah and Drew White)
Wednesday July 22: Groza Award & Ray Guy Award
Thursday July 23: Hornung Award & Wuerffel Trophy
Friday July 24: Maxwell Award

subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.