Story Poster
Photo by Rick Kimball/ISD
Notre Dame Football

Two Notre Dame Linebackers Named to Nagurski Watch List

July 21, 2020

After being named to the Butkus Award Watch List on Monday, Notre Dame linebacker Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah was named to the 2020 Bronko Nagurski Watch List.

The Virginia native wasn't the only Irish player on the list as fellow linebacker Drew White was also named to the watch list, which goes to the college football defensive player of the year. 

The combo each recorded 80 tackles in 2019 and tied for the team-lead. 

Owusu-Koramoah started 13 games and led the Irish with 13.5 tackles for loss to with 5.5 sacks last fall.

White played in 13 games with 8.0 tackles for loss and 2.0 sacks. The Florida native recorded 11 tackles against Michigan, which was the highest tackles in a game by one player in 2019 for the Irish. 

The winner of the 2020 Bronko Nagurski Trophy presented by LendingTree as the National Defensive Player of the Year will be chosen from those five finalists. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's full membership, selects a 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski Trophy finalists. Committee members, by individual ballot, select the winner they regard as the best defensive player in college football.

Watch List Calendar
Monday July 13: Chuck Bednarik Award (Kyle Hamilton, Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah)
Tuesday July 14: Davey O’Brien Award (Ian Book) 
Wednesday July 15: Doak Walker Award
Thursday July 16: Biletnikoff Award
Friday July 17: Mackey Award
Monday July 20: Butkus Award (Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah)
Monday July 20: Jim Thorpe Award
Tuesday July 21: Outland Trophy (Aaron Banks, Liam Eichenberg and Jarrett Patterson)
Tuesday July 21: Nagurski Award (Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah and Drew White)
Wednesday July 22: Groza Award & Ray Guy Award
Thursday July 23: Hornung Award & Wuerffel Trophy
Friday July 24: Maxwell Award

subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.