Photo by Rick Kimball/ISD
Notre Dame Football

Notre Dame K Jon Doerer Named to Lou Groza Award Watch List

July 22, 2020

Notre Dame senior Jon Doerer has been named to the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Watch List. The award honors the top collegiate placekicker in the nation. 

In his first year as the starter, Doerer impressed just about everyone as he connected on all 57 extra-point attempts and went 17-for-20 on field goals, including two from over 50 yards. 

The 6-foot-3, 203-pounder scored 108 points in 2019, which was good enough to be the most prolific scoring season by the Notre Dame kicker. Doerer also became the first kicker and the sixth player in program history to score 100-plus points in a season. 

The award is named in honor of one of the all-time great kickers in football history, Lou Groza. After serving in World War II, Groza signed with the Cleveland Browns in 1946. A six-time all-pro tackle, Groza really earned his fame, and his famous nickname, “The Toe,” as a kicker. In 1950 Groza won the NFL championship game for the Browns by kicking a field goal with 28 seconds left. That was just the first of what would turn out to be four championships that Groza and the Cleveland Browns shared.

The 29th Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the Orange Bowl, recognizes the three finalists during a celebration in Palm Beach County, culminating with a gala awards banquet at West Palm Beach’s Kravis Center for the Performing Arts on December 7th.  

Watch List Calendar
Monday July 13: Chuck Bednarik Award (Kyle Hamilton, Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah)
Tuesday July 14: Davey O’Brien Award (Ian Book) 
Wednesday July 15: Doak Walker Award
Thursday July 16: Biletnikoff Award
Friday July 17: Mackey Award
Monday July 20: Butkus Award (Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah)
Monday July 20: Jim Thorpe Award
Tuesday July 21: Outland Trophy (Aaron Banks, Liam Eichenberg and Jarrett Patterson)
Tuesday July 21: Nagurski Award (Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah and Drew White)
Wednesday July 22: Lou Groza Award (Jon Doerer)
Wednesday July 22: Ray Guy Award
Thursday July 23: Hornung Award & Wuerffel Trophy
Friday July 24: Maxwell Award

subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.