Drew Allar vs Gavin Wimsatt - 2022 QBs - SubAlum's Breakdown

3,963 Views | 2 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by subalum75
subalum75
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Looks like the top 2 QB recruits Notre Dame is after in the class of 2022 are Drew Allar and Gavin Wimsatt. I figured this is a great topic to add to the free board and create content and hopefully some conversation.

I am by no means an expert and base my analysis off of (admittedly) Youtube and internet videos, which we all know are an incomplete/skewed profile. I've never seen anyone look bad in a internet video!! That said, I really enjoy this so I'm rolling with it!!

Probably a good idea to explain my ratings system. It is as follows:

I tried to develop a system that could be used as a comparison to Irish Sports Daily. So a recruit's maximum score is 100. I'm sure it is not apples to apples, but I feel it is in the ballpark. If nothing else, it creates conversation and I have content to add.

100-95 5-Star
94-88 4-Star
87-80 3-Star

The following categories are used for my evaluation:

Baseline - Every recruit gets 20 points. This is mainly so I can max them out a 100 overall for a perfect 5-star recruit. I could only come up with 8 other categories to evaluate, so the base 20 helps get them to the 100 range.

**The remaining categories are 1-10. The floor here is 7. So everyone starts at 7

Bio Measurables (for QBs, most will default to 10 unless there is a glaring issue, like being 5'7).

Pre-Snap Tough to rate based off of internet highlights, so everyone gets an 8 unless there is evidence to the contrary

Throw Power

Throw Accuracy

Mobility Athleticism, speed, agility

Pocket Presence can the QB escape pressure and keep play alive with a pass

Mechanics - fundamentals

Intangibles Most will get a 8 here, unless there is evidence (positive or negative) that comes out. Struggles academically, behavior issues, performances at camps, competition level)
subalum75