Photo by Aaron Doster - USA TODAY SPORTS
Notre Dame Basketball

Arike Ogunbowale Named 2017-18 ACC Female Athlete Of The Year

July 5, 2018

Notre Dame guard Arike Ogunbowale added another award to her collection on Thursday as she became the 29th recipient of the Mary Garber Award, which goes to the top female athlete in the entire league last season. 

Ogunbowale received 36 votes while Florida State third baseman Jessie Warren received 32 votes after she led the Seminoles to the 2018 women’s softball title. 

It would have been hard to top Ogunbowale’s performance at the Final Four as she hit two buzzer beaters, including a three-pointer to win the National Championship over Mississippi State. 

On the year, Ogunbowale averaged 20.8 points per game and also won the Most Outstanding Player at the Final Four after averaging 22.5 points per game. 

Ogunbowale’s 145 points in the NCAA Tournament were the fifth most all-time and the most by a Notre Dame player. Ruth Riley held the record for the Irish by scoring 139 points in 2001.

Quarterback Lamar Jackson won the 2017-18 ACC Male Athlete of the Year with 19 votes by edging out Georgia Tech catcher Joey Bart (18 votes) and NC State defensive end Bradley Chubb (17 votes). 

Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.