Story Poster
Photo by Rick Kimball/ISD
Notre Dame Football

Notre Dame Names Five Captains

September 8, 2020

Notre Dame announced its five captains for the 2020 season on Tuesday afternoon

Defensive back Shaun Crawford, offensive lineman Robert Hainsey, defensive end Daelin Hayes, defensive end Ade Ogundeji and quarterback Ian Book will lead the Irish this fall. 

Book was Brian Kelly's first quarterback to be named captain at Notre Dame in 2019 and will look to build on an impressive two year run as the starter. 

The California native was the first Notre Dame signal-caller in school history to throw for at least 2,500 yards, 500 rushing yards and 30 touchdown passes and only Oklahoma's Jalen Hurts matched Book in those categories in 2019.

Hainsey did not allow a sack on 252 pass plays in 2019, but saw his season end during week eight as he suffered a leg injury. Along with Book, Hainsey will be a two-time captain in back-to-back seasons. 

Crawford will play his sixth-year for the Irish and has won the starting safety job across from Kyle Hamilton. Most Notre Dame fans are aware of Crawford's tough luck with injuries, but respect has been something the "Golden Mongoose" has always had from his peers. 

Hayes, a graduate student, returns for his final year at Notre Dame as he played in just four games last fall before a shoulder injury ended his year. The Michigan native has played in 41 games for the Irish and racked up 78 tackles. 

Ogundeji, another Michigan native, played in 13 games last fall and recorded 4.5 sacks. Pro Football Focus graded him out as the second-highest defensive player on the 2019 roster for Notre Dame. 

Notre Dame Two-time captains: Leonard Bahan (1918-19); Ned Bolcar (1988-89); Ian Book (2019-20); Phil Carter (1981-82); Bob Crable (1980-81); Maurice Crum Jr. (2007-08); Sheldon Day (2014-15); Pat Filley (1943-44); Willie Fry (1976-77); Robert Hainsey (2019-20); Grant Irons (2000-01); Frank Keough (1893-94); Ryan Leahy (1994-95); Nick Martin (2014-15); Zack Martin(2012-13); Mike McGlinchey (2016-17); Bob Olson (1968-69); Ron Powlus (1996-97); Edward Prudhomme (1888-89); Brady Quinn (2005-06); Louis “Red” Salmon (1902-03); Travis Thomas (2006-07); Drue Tranquill(2017-18); Tom Zbikowski (2006-07)

subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.